One hundred twenty-four (124) Texas counties (including three in Greater Houston) impose sales taxes.

Galveston County isn’t one of them. Galveston County’s sales tax rate is 0%.

City Sales Tax in Galveston County

Various cities within the county impose their own sales tax. They are illustrated in the table below:

City Sales Tax Rate
Bayou Vista 1.75%
Clear Lake Shores 2.00%
Dickinson 1.50%
Friendswood 2.00%
Galveston 2.00%
Hitchcock 2.00%
Jamaica Beach 1.00%
Kemah 2.00%
La Marque 2.00%
League City 1.75%
Santa Fe 2.00%
Texas City 2.00%
Tiki Island 1.00%

Other Houston Counties

Greater Houston area counties that impose their own sales tax include Brazoria, Liberty, and Austin.